top of page

The Australian National Curriculum?

Internationally comparable standards and learning objectives

The Australian Curriculum is designed to develop successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens. It is presented as a progression of learning from Foundation - Year 10 that makes clear to teachers, parents, students and others in the wider community what is to be taught, and the quality of learning expected of young people as they progress through school. This learning continua is comparable and transferable to any other international curriculums whether it be common core, CAPS or Cambridge. 

Disciplinary knowledge is found in the eight learning areas of the Australian Curriculum:




Health and Physical Education,

Humanities and Social Sciences,

The Arts,

Technologies and


In each learning area or subject, content descriptions specify what young people will learn; and the depth of understanding and the sophistication of knowledge and skill expected of students at the end of each year level.

Alongside disciplinary knowledge, the Australian Curriculum provides seven general capabilities:



Information and Communication Technology 

Critical and Creative Thinking

Personal and Social Capability

Ethical Understanding and

Intercultural Understanding.

These general capabilities comprise an integrated and interconnected set of knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions that apply across subject-based content and equip students to be lifelong learners and be able to operate with confidence in a complex, information-rich, globalised world. 

Learning continua have been developed for each capability to describe the relevant knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions at particular points of schooling.

The Australian Curriculum also includes three overarching themes. We have taken these Australia centric priorities and substituted them with priorities relevant to our community. They are; 

  • Mozambican histories and cultures,

  • Global engagement and 

  • Sustainability.

The priorities are not separate subjects in themselves; they are addressed through learning area content, where appropriate.

Literacy and Numeracy Progressions
Australian National Curriculum: About Us
bottom of page